Peercoin Proof of Stake Minting Setup Guide

Perhaps this forum needs to make a list of other PPC references and then develop a few good summaries of its own.

I’m still learning but here’s where I’m at:

There is a guide: “Peercoin Proof of Stake Minting Setup Guide” but that’s for Microsoft Windows. The Linux version looks to simply be a matter of adding the Server=1 to the .conf file having the -qt with a locked wallet and running a terminal in parrallel with the commandline:
ppcoind walletpassphrase YourWalletPasswordHere 9999999 true

-qt then shows the wallet is locked but unlocked for Stake Minting.

I haven’t read in depth but it seems then that stake is relative to how long that runs… perhaps after a month I’ll see a small return but more interestingly that I’ll be then contributing blocks - which is when I’m expecting my deamon becomes useful. That does seem to suggest perhaps very few Proof of Stake deamons are likely to be running currently and then PPC will only work as Proof of Stake and not depend on Proof of Work if there is a large user base and a fair number of coins staked like this. Perhaps then that is understood and perhaps that’s why the coin limit is higher than other coins… good chance I’m wrong about this though.

Thank you for the intro. I found this to work:

in the /home//.ppcoin
create file ppcoin.conf -------unlike in Windows, no capital letters!

with content:

server=1 rpcuser=randomname rpcpassword=randompassword
save and change access conditions according to safety procedures.

Do encrypt your wallet if not already done so. Observe precautions, write down the password, store in a safe location. (Pin it up on your monitor with red letters “DO NOT REMOVE, THIS IS THE SECRET PASSWORD TO ALL MY POSSESSIONS IN PPCOIN WALLET”, or use your own method if you have any better.) ((I will not go into detail here now.)

By encrypting your wallet, the ppcoin-qt will quit.