Anyone still maintaining Primecoin?

I am in my second year postgraduate math studies and came across Primecoin. Being a fan of blockchain I decided to delve deeper. I find the idea and implementation of it fascinating. After doing research on prime numbers and reading the source codes, I am convinced that Sunny King, whoever he/she is, must be a genius among geniuses. It takes a good theoretical mathematician and and seasoned programmer to write something as beautiful as this, and following King’s train of thought and see how he manages the problems he must have met during development blew me away!

However, I see that the codes were not updated for years and still resembles Bitcoin’s structure from the old days. It would be such a shame if this chain is simply abandoned, while it is probably superior in all ways in terms of PoW, minting design, transaction capacity and confirmation speed, except for maybe the level of security(marginally). Why is this coin valued as it is today and is there anyone who is still looking after this technology?

1 Like

That is, any idea why King left this coin unattended? I know there is a proposed merge-fork, but since nothing has been updated for the past two months I don’t see it happening anytime soon if at all.

yes some people are still working on it, there is a telegram group and a #primecoin room on peercoin.chat

Hi Chen:

Hope all is well with your studies. Sunny King is indeed an exceptionally talented individual.

As Irritant pointed out there is a team working on the Primecoin itself as well as a merge fork. However, their progress has not been substantial and they are primarily focused on peripherals surrounding Primecoin. King did not maintain his codes after ensuring its stable operation. He then moved on to working on his new project VEE. It is possible that he is involved in the maintenance of PPC as well, but it is mostly handled by other people.