Request for Better Forum Software

I think a current issue that’s holding Peercoin back is its marketing. To be frank, it’s been kind of bad from the beginning. (Who didn’t giggle at the name PPCoin?) I do think its image has slowly improved though. (I’m digging the new logo).

I think one way to help give the coin a better image is if we were to upgrade this forum software to something more professional. To me, it’s kind of weird thinking how much money is invested in Peercoin yet the main hub for discussion on it is run on 2nd rate, free software. I know the Bitcoin forum is also run on SMF, but we can do better.

I am partial to XenForo, and would be willing to chip in to purchase a license. I’d consider it an investment in my investment. It’s very good software for facilitating discussion, which I think will help build the community and ultimately help get the word out there about Peercoin.

What do you think?

I’ve never used XenForo before, but from a quick look, it appears to be a nice option.

@FuzzyBear – as the keeper of the flame, what say you about considering an update to a different forum framework? Let’s assume that it was paid for through a community fundraiser, so cost isn’t an issue.

I disagree. I think we should stick with SMF.
I do think we need another social platform though.

I think thats a good Idea, and I am willing to chip in aswell.

[quote=“super3, post:3, topic:1682”]I disagree. I think we should stick with SMF.
I do think we need another social platform though.[/quote]
Any reason why you think we should stick with SMF?

I’d actually like it if we used the same colors as our subreddit, dark upper banner with the Peercoin logos, a white and gray background and some green mixed in. It would make our communities more consistent.

I’d actually like the same thing to be done with the website. Keep the current layout, but change the colors from blue to what we have on our subreddit.