Minting while having your ppc in cold storage

Is it possible to mint ppc while to keep ppc in cold storage? Maybe import ppc every 30 days instead of running the client all day long? There are just too much risk for some people who have thousands of ppc to run the wallet 24x7. If I have 10k ppc I will not mint any if I can not ensure my coin is 100% secure while minting. I think this could be a big problem and if Sunny could slove this problem then it will make pos to be much easy and widely accepted and used.

I don’t have them at the moment, but there are definitely links on this forum that go to great length to show you how to secure your wallet for minting - yes there are some issues with using your wallet when it is encrypted, but when you mint it no longer asks for the password – only reason I don’t YET.

There will always be some risk with this - I am no programmer, nor will I claim to understand how EXACTLY it works, besides the system knowing the last date that a specific section of coins was moved into your personal wallet and will be ready for 30+ day minting.

Would there be a way to have a Minting Token represent your Coin Age? So… lets say Transactions on 3/09/2014. They are all the same Coin Age, could
it be set to generate a token to represent that “LOT” so you can send the token out for minting that represents those Coin Ages while still protecting your PPC from the potentially being attacked/stolen?

I have no idea how the programming works, this is just an outsider style idea.
I think the idea sounds cool, but typically if it sound good it doesn’t mesh up with the programming :slight_smile:

Just so you know this will be fixed in v0.4.

Isn’t this similar to the ‘cold-locked minting’ Sunny proposed many months back, coming in v0.4 or v0.5?

The purposes of minting, isn’t just to reward holders of Peercoin and create coins.