Steps to Removing Checkpoints?

Many of you know now that work is being done to start phasing out checkpoints…

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=114994.msg7481470#msg7481470

"Peercoin v0.5 is under development, currently work is being done on the checkpoint system. First step, user would be able to opt out enforcement of broadcast checkpoints."

Now I’m not an expert on this, so I’d like to understand exactly what this means. Sunny said that opt out is the first step. What other steps would follow after that? Also, are checkpoints actually being removed, or are they only being decentralized, so he can no longer directly control them? This quote is from the previous interview…

"Let me clarify, what I mean is that the checkpoint will be disabled like in primecoin, but if an emergency occurrs and the community has general consensus, I can still broadcast them but users would need to explicitly issue a command to enforce checkpoint"

Does this mean that control is being given to the community? If so, is there a next step after this to remove them completely, or will they always be with Peercoin? Maybe these answers aren’t available yet? The main reason I’m asking is because I’ve been showing people Sunny’s quote when they bring up checkpoints and I’m not sure what it really means.

first option to turn it off when it is default on, next would be option to turn it on when default is off i guess ?

[quote=“Sentinelrv, post:1, topic:2614”]Now I’m not an expert on this, so I’d like to understand exactly what this means. Sunny said that opt out is the first step. What other steps would follow after that? Also, are checkpoints actually being removed, or are they only being decentralized, so he can no longer directly control them? This quote is from the previous interview…