Starting PeercoinJ in Scala

I am planning on using my upcoming summer vacation on writing a port of the Peercoin protocol in Scala. Scala runs on the JVM and is fully compatible with Java. And the old PeercoinJ project seems to be completely abandoned.

Ideally I’d like to have a fully functional PeercoinJ project up and running which is up to date with the latest Peercoin core protocol. Although it would internally be written in mostly Scala, I believe that having it be accessible and usable from Java would make it much easier for the many Java developers out there to start using and contributing to the Peercoin ecosystem. For example, making a JavaFX based graphical wallet, or making an Android wallet would be possible and far easier if there’s a PeercoinJ project available as a maven repository to add as a dependency in your favorite build system manager like Gradle or SBT.

As previously stated, I’m familiar with Java and Scala, but I have no knowledge of C++. Starting out with reading the source code for PeercoinJ and BitcoinJ, how familiar with C++ and Python would I have to be in order to be able to read the original Peercoin Core code and understand it. At least understanding on a high and abstract level how it works, so I can write some code in Scala which does exactly the same thing?

Regards,

3 Likes

Sounds interesting!

My opinions below

Are you planning on a complete rewrite of ppcoind in Java?

Is there a java implementation of bitcoin? If so, that would be a good starting point since the codebases are related.

What about wrapping ppcoind in JNI calls? That way can avoid reimplementation and can also keep up as ppcoind evolves. Since there are some big changes coming in with merging the latest bitcoin to ppcoind, amongst the other features that are being added.