A transaction fee (even if it is destroyed) is not an optimal solution!

I just found peercoin and I am kind of new to cryptocurrencies so please forgive me if my comments are uniformed. I just feel that there has to exist a better way to eliminate spam transactions than to have a transaction fee. Isn’t possible to instead limit the number of transaction a person can make to let say 5 transactions per day? If you have a transaction fee you are basically punishing everyone because some people are bad. Micropayments are also not possible with a transaction fee. Peercoin is however so much better than bitcoin because it has much more inflation built in and better than ripple because the owner does not appear to hold the majority of the coins. In my opinion the problems with bitcoin is the lack of inflation, the abundant volatility and the transaction fee that is paid to miners. Increasing the number of coins (Inflation) is a much better way to compensate miners than having a transaction fee. I also feel that bitcoin is mainly used for speculation (buy and hold) than being used a medium of exchange (payments). The bitcoin crypto currency would benefit from more inflation (increasing in the supply of coins) which would lower the price of bitcoin. The removal of the transaction fee could also be financed in such way. The payment revolution has not begun until everyone (peer to peer and consumer to merchants) can make and receive payments without any fees. A good crypto currency and payment network according to me has to have 7 properties. 1) Decentralized. 2) No transaction fee. 3) A stable price (low volatility). 4) It can be used to buy things in the real world. 5) Liquidity (you can exchange it for fiat at any time) 6) Scalability over time. Not a fixed supply of coins. 7) A high speed and low cost of transaction and verification (to make sure no double spend)

1 Like